Scalloped (Baked) Corn

35 Wichterman Garden

Grandma Dora, my sister Becky, my mom and I in my grandparents’ garden.

My grandparents were dairy farmers when my dad was young.  They had a 155 acre farm and they always had a big garden out behind the house.  So, when I found this recipe for scalloped corn, I imagined my Grandma Dora using corn from her garden to make this recipe.

J and C 9th Birthday 041

Corn off the cob

I had corn on the cob, so I decided to try it.  The recipe was very simple to make.  You can use canned or even frozen corn just as easily as fresh.

Scalloped Corn1

Scalloped Corn2

The recipe is as follows:

Scalloped (Baked) Corn

  • 2 tablespoons Crisco
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cups cooked or canned corn
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 eggs

Melt Crisco;  add flour and mix well.  Add milk gradually and bring to the boiling point, stirring constantly.  Add corn, sugar, salt and pepper and heat thoroughly.  Remove from fire, add well beaten eggs and pour into a greased baking dish.  Bake in a moderate oven (350 degrees) for 25 minutes or until corn is firm.

J and C 9th Birthday 046

Scalloped (Baked) Corn

I can imagine that maybe my grandma took this dish to a church potluck or maybe served it to the farmhands at harvest time.  It would also be great for family reunions and other summer gatherings.  I made meatloaf and baked potatoes and served it alongside.

J and C 9th Birthday 052

I have my own garden this summer, but it isn’t nearly as impressive as my grandparents’ looked.  It’s still fun though, to see what I can grow.  I think my grandparents would be happy to know that I’m enjoying gardening like they did.

Happy Baking!  Amy

34 Amy in Wichterman Garden

Me in my grandparents’ garden.

 

Leave a Reply

