Johnny Cake

Wichtermans4

My dad with his grandma on the front porch of the farm house.


There are several recipes that my dad will sometimes talk about as being his favorites from childhood:  cinnamon rolls, ice box cookies, steam pudding and date filled cookies to name a few.  Johnny Cake is another one he will mention.  So, when I found the recipe, I thought I should pull it out and try it.

Johnny Cake Typed Recipe

Original Johnny Cake Recipe

The first recipe I found was typed on a card.  It listed ingredients, but had little by way of instructions.  The instructions it did have were quite vague (for instance, 3/4 cup flour and corn meal to make a good batter).  So, I looked in my mom’s recipe box, and sure enough, she had copied down the recipe.  It still didn’t have any baking instructions, but it was more clear in its detail.

Johnny Cake printed1

Johnny Cake Recipe

Johnny Cake printed2

Johnny Cake Recipe (back)

Johnny Cake

  • 1 cup sour milk (I used 1 tablespoon lemon juice and then filled the cup the rest of the way with milk.)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup corn meal
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs, well beaten
  • 1 teaspoon soda

Mix flour, sugar and corn meal, salt, baking powder and soda.  Put in eggs, melted butter, milk, etc.  Mix.

Cooking 017

Johnny Cake Batter

The recipe was simple to put together.  I decided to put it in a greased two quart baking dish.  I looked up other recipes for corn bread and saw that they usually baked at about 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes.  I followed those directions and the Johnny Cake came out a nice golden brown.

Cooking 022

Johnny Cake fresh out of the oven.

I asked my dad if it tasted like the Johnny Cake he remembered from his childhood and he said it did.  Then, to prove his point he ate a large serving.  I hope you try it and enjoy it as much as he did.  It is a simple side dish to prepare.

Johnny Cake

Johnny Cake ready to eat.

Happy Baking!

Amy

Leave a Reply

