Zucchini Bread – A Bonus Recipe

zucchini bread 001

Zucchini from my garden.

 At the beginning of the summer, my garden looked quite nice.  A little fence all around and everything neatly planted.  But, as summer went on, and mosquitoes drove me out, weeds started setting in.  Plus, a large pumpkin vine that came up on it’s own is now trying to take over.  If that isn’t enough, a large woodchuck has somehow found his way under the fence and is making my garden his home.  Unfortunately he has decided that he especially likes green beans and zucchini.  Before he made his entrance, however, I had quite a few zucchinis.  I posted this recipe earlier in combination with the scalloped corn recipe.  I decided to separate it now and give it it’s own post.  This recipe is not from my grandmother’s recipe box, but from my mother’s.  This is a recipe my family has enjoyed for years and I hope you will too.  I like to make many loaves when the zucchini is fresh and freeze them.  Then, when I am going somewhere and need something to share, I can just pull it out of the freezer and take it along.  I am always asked for the recipe.

Zucchini Bread

Beat all together:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup oil
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 cups grated zucchini

Add:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Pour into greased two loaf pans.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45-60 minutes.

zucchini bread 002

zucchini bread ready to eat

Happy Baking!

Amy

Leave a Reply

