Koffee Kuchen

My brother-in-law, loves coffee cake.  There are several recipes for coffee cake in Grandma Dora’s recipe boxes and he keeps suggesting we try one.  One afternoon I was at Wendy’s house.  She had dinner in the crock pot, so I decided to make muffins to go with it.  Then, I remembered the coffee cake recipes and decided to try one of those instead.  The Koffee Kuchen looked a bit different than the others, so I thought I would try it out.

Sweet Rolls 154

Sweet Rolls 155

Koffee Kuchen

  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 beaten egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 stiff beaten egg whites

Cream shortening and sugar;  add egg yolks.  Add flour sifted with salt and baking powder alternately with milk.  Fold in egg whites.  Pour into waxed paper lined 8 inch square pan.  Blend 6 tablespoons flour, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 2 tablespoons butter and 1/2 teaspoon baking powder.  Sprinkle over cake.  Bake in moderate oven (350 degrees) 40 to 50 minutes.  Cut in squares.

I started out by separating the eggs and beating the egg whites until they were stiff.

Sweet Rolls 103

I then removed the egg whites to another bowl and creamed the shortening and sugar.

Sweet Rolls 104

I added the egg yolks. Then, I combined the dry ingredients and added them to the creamed mixture alternately with the milk.  After that I folded in the egg whites and poured the batter into an 8 inch square pan (I did not line it with waxed paper although it is probably a good idea.).

Sweet Rolls 107

Then I blended the topping ingredients.  This was an interesting, a topping with baking soda in it.  I’d never made one like this before and was curious to see what it was like after it baked.

Sweet Rolls 108

I sprinkled it on the cake and put it in the oven.

Sweet Rolls 113

I baked it in the oven at 350 and after about 40 minutes it came out smelling and looking delicious.

Sweet Rolls 139

It tasted different that a traditional coffee cake – there is no cinnamon.  It has it’s own distinct flavor.  Even though it was my brother-in-law’s request, my dad is the one who ended up devouring it!  Give it a try and serve it with coffee or just by itself.  I think you will be glad you did.

Happy Baking!

Amy

Leave a Reply

