Mrs. Eisenhower’s Sugar Cookies

Cupcakes, frosting, sugar cookies 853

Yesterday was election day.  In Grandma Dora’s recipe box I had found a newspaper clipping with some cookie recipes.  One was Mrs. Nixon’s Chocolate Butter Cookies, one was Mrs. Dulles’ Nut Wafers and one was Mrs. Eisenhower’s Sugar Cookies.  I decided election day was an appropriate day to try out one of these recipes.  We’ve posted a lot of Grandma Dora’s cookie recipes:  Drop Nut Cookies, Chocolate Chip Cookies, Oatmeal Drop Cookies, Shortbread Cookies, Ice Box Cookies, and Hermit Cookies.  But, you can never have too many cookies recipes, so I thought I’d give Mrs. Eisenhower’s Sugar Cookies a try.

Cupcakes, frosting, sugar cookies 817

Mrs. Eisenhower’s Sugar Cookies

Sift together:

  • 2 cups sifted flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Cream:

  • 1/2 cup butter

Beat in:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 egg yolks

Add dry ingredients alternately with:

  • 1 tablespoon cream

Blend in:

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Mrs. Eisenhower’s sugar cookie recipe consisted of a list of ingredients, but no baking instructions.  I wasn’t sure if they were going to end up being roll our cookies or drop cookies or how I was going to bake them.

Cupcakes, frosting, sugar cookies 822

I started by combining the flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl.  I just used a whisk to mix them together as the flour I used is already sifted.

Cupcakes, frosting, sugar cookies 823

I then creamed the butter in the Kitchenaid.  I then beat in the sugar and egg yolks.  After that I added the dry ingredients alternately with the cream (actually, I didn’t have any cream, so I just used milk and it worked fine).  At the end, I added the vanilla and I came out with some very nice dough.

Cupcakes, frosting, sugar cookies 824

It definitely looked more like roll out dough than drop dough.  I decided to refrigerate it for awhile before I rolled it out.  I had to go teach a class that night, so I decided to throw dinner in the crock pot while the dough was chilling.

Cupcakes, frosting, sugar cookies 825

I pulled the dough out of the refrigerator and rolled it out.

Cupcakes, frosting, sugar cookies 826

I then cut circle shapes out of the dough, put it on an ungreased cookie sheet and sprinkled the tops with sugar (the cookies could also be frosted if desired).  I decided to bake them at 375 degrees and they looked done at about 8 minutes.

Cupcakes, frosting, sugar cookies 829

They are a very thin cookie.  I tasted one and decided right away that Mrs. Eisenhower was a good cook!  I decided I would take some to share with my students at my class last night.  I was giving them an exam, so I thought the cookies might make the night a little better for them.

Cupcakes, frosting, sugar cookies 850

I am glad that I chose Mrs. Eisenhower’s Sugar Cookies for election day.  They get my vote!

Happy Baking!

Amy

Leave a Reply

