Caramel Apple Salad – A Bonus Recipe

We had another family birthday party this past weekend.  My niece turned 12!  How can she possibly be that old?  I remember the day she was born.  We traveled 1.5 hours in the car to the hospital to see the first grandchild, my first niece, on our side of the family.  We all rode together and still to this day, tease our mom for how crazy she was.  I guess the birth of the first grandchild does something to women.  They get in a “baby zone” and can’t hear or see anything that doesn’t have to do with getting them to the hospital.  NOTHING will keep them from seeing their new grandbaby!

For my niece’s party this past weekend, I wanted to make Caramel Apple Salad.  My sister, Rebekah had passed this recipe on to me a long time ago.  It sat in my recipe box for years before I made it recently.  It’s delicious and makes a large bowl, so I always like to make it when I will be sharing with a group.  She had received it from her grandmother-in-law, Grandma Slager.

Caramel Apple Salad

  • 1 – 8 oz container Cool Whip
  • 1 – 8 oz can crushed pineapple with juice
  • 1 – 3 oz, small box butterscotch instant pudding
  • 3 cups chopped apples
  • 1 cup mini marshmallows
  • 1 cup dry roasted peanuts (or any kind you choose)

Mix all together except for Cool Whip.  Fold in Cool Whip last.  Chill.

CAS1

With just a few ingredients and no baking or cooking, it was the perfect, easy side to make when all of the crazy cousins would be together!

CAS Cropped1
I simply dumped the chopped apples (you don’t even need to peel them!), nuts and crushed pineapple into a big mixing bowl. (This is when you’d add the marshmallows too, but I don’t like marshmallows in salads, so I left them out.)

CAS Cropped2
Next, I poured in the butterscotch pudding mix.

CAS4I stirred until the butterscotch pudding was incorporated.

CAS5Then, I added the whole container of Cool Whip.

CAS6I stirred that in until it was well blended.

CAS7Last, I transferred it to a serving bowl and put it in the refrigerator to chill until it was served.  (I wouldn’t suggest making this the day before as the apples will get soggy.)

That’s it!   It is SO simple and so good!  The crunch of apples, with the sweetness of pineapple and saltiness of peanuts all combined in a blanket of caramely Cool Whip!  Yum!  Take this dish to your Christmas get-to-gethers and work parties.  You won’t disappoint!

Happy Mixing!

Wendy

Leave a Reply

