Baked Macaroni and Cheese – A Bonus Recipe

Do you have a “go-to” meal?  Whenever we come home and it’s already dinner time or I need to go grocery shopping, but haven’t had time, I always find myself whipping up Baked Macaroni and Cheese.  I was having one of “those” days so I decided it was time to fallback on my old “go-to” recipe.

Mac10

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

  • 2 tablespoons corn starch
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 cups shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • 8 oz elbow macaroni (about 1 3/4 cups), cooked and drained

In a saucepan, combine the first 4 ingredients, stir in milk.  Add butter while stirring constantly.  Bring to a boil and whisk for one minute.  Stir in 1 3/4 cups cheese until melted.  Add noodles.  Pour into greased casserole dish.  Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake uncovered at 375 degrees for 25 minutes or until lightly browned.

Mac1I started by whisking together the corn starch, salt, dry mustard and pepper.

Mac2Then I added the milk and butter and whisked continually until it began to thicken.  Once it came to a boil, I whisked it for one minute.

Mac4I added the cheese and whisked it until it was melted.

Mac5I strained the cooked noodles.  (I like to pick fun noodles.  I hate boring elbows!)

Mac7Next, I added the cheese mixture to the noodles and mixed well.

Mac8I poured the cheese mixture into my greased 9 x 13 (I had doubled the recipe.) and sprinkled on the remaining cheese.  I popped it into the oven at 375 degrees and baked it for 25 minutes until it was bubbling and beginning to brown.

Mac9

I served it up with green beans and zucchini bread.  It was delicious!  It’s an easy and filling, made from scratch meal that my whole family loves!

Happy Baking!

Wendy

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

