Mexican Layered Dip – A Bonus Recipe

It’s New Year’s Eve!  Time to party like it’s 2015!  And what else do we do when we celebrate?  We get together with friends and EAT!!  Just part of packing on the holiday poundage, I guess.  Hey, we need to have something to make a New Year’s resolution about, right?!

I found this recipe in a magazine years ago.  It is my ultimate favorite dip.  It eats more like a meal than a snack.  In fact, upon the rare occasion that there is some left after I’ve taken this to a party, I eat it for lunch the next day, with tortilla chips.  Yummo!

Mexican Layered Dip

  • 1 pkg. (8oz) cream cheese, softened (I use the 1/3 less fat.)
  • 1 Tbsp taco seasoning mix
  • 1 cup salsa
  • 1 cup drained canned black beans, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup shredded lettuce
  • 2 Tbsp. sliced black olives

Beat cream cheese and taco seasoning with mixer until creamy.  Spread onto the bottom of a 9 inch plate.  Layer remaining ingredients, in order, over cream cheese.  Cover and refrigerate at least 1 hour before serving.  Serve with tortilla chips.

Dip1I started by adding one 8oz block of 1/3 less fat cream cheese to my mixing bowl.  I measured in 1 tablespoon of taco seasoning.

Dip 2I turned the mixer onto medium speed until the taco seasoning was nicely incorporated into the cream cheese.

Dip CroppedThen I spread the cream cheese mixture evenly over my serving plate and began the layering process of the other ingredients.

Dip salsa

I measured and poured on the salsa.

Dip 4Next, I added the rinsed black beans.  Rather than only using 1 cup of black beans, I always use the whole can.  I know that if I put the rest of them in the fridge, they will eventually get thrown out because I won’t use them.  Two bonuses here, they are good for you and you won’t waste them!

Dip 5My favorite flavor comes next, the green onions.  And if I’m perfectly honest, I don’t actually measure them.  I just cut up what looks about right and sprinkle them on.

Dip 6Cheddar cheese comes next and you might notice a pattern here, but I don’t measure this either.  This is a very forgiving recipe.  Just layer on what looks right to you!

Dip 7I added the shredded lettuce next and, you guessed it, I just eyeball the amount.

Dip 8I always go overboard on the black olives and put on way more than 2 tablespoons.   Knowing the way my son loves them, he’ll eat 2 tablespoons right off the top before it’s even served!

Dip 10

Make sure to let the dip sit in the fridge for at least an hour before it’s served.  During that time, the flavors blend together.

Dip 9

So there you have it!  Served with tortilla chips, it’s a delicious, colorful, healthy layered dip that you can take to your New Year’s Eve Party tonight!

Happy Layering and Happy New Year!

Wendy

Leave a Reply

